Starbucks…and Reese’s?

I love Starbucks. I love the fact that they offer soymilk. I love that their coffee tastes the same regardless of which ‘Bucks I visit. I love the music choices that blare through the speakers. I love the cozy atmosphere. Anywhoo, so I’m in Starbucks today getting my usual (“tall soy latte please, one splenda) and in line before me is a woman who orders some peanut butter chocalate mini cupcake thingy. (Hey, I love the “Bucks, but every since they got rid of the best brownie of all time, I’ve been constructively boycotting the pastry section.) Anywhoo, when this lady orders it, the cashier says, “Oh, you want the Reese’s?” The lady says, “Excuse me?” The cashier chuckles and replies, “Oh, that’s what I call them. It’s chocolate and peanut butter, so I call it ‘the Reese’s”.

Poor Reese’s peanut butter cups. It’s the number one selling candy ever (I learned that by watching some documentary on Netflix, I think). And as much as I love Starbucks, I’m certain that that item in the pastry section doesn’t come close to a Reeses PBCup. I’m even more certain that the manufacturer of Reeses would cringe if he heard this cashier call that pastry thingy a Reeses.

I’m not saying it’s brand infringement, but this is a great example (albeit a stretch) of how trademark dilution can start…

One Comment Add yours

  1. Von Watts says:

    Wow this was very interesting.. I find myself seeing this samething but you don’t realize it until you read something like this. And I’m mad you boycotted the pastry section something I would do though glad I’m not alone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

